Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy (MCMP)

Breadcrumb Navigation


1st MCMP Munich-Buenos Aires Workshop (12-13 July 2013)


Idea and Motivation

This workshop is part of the collaboration between the MCMP and the research groups of Professor Eduardo Barrio (Universidad de Buenos Aires) and Professor Pablo Lorenzano (Universidad Nacional de Quilmes), Argentina.

The main topics of the workshop are philosophical logic, philosophy of logic, formal theories of truth and structuralist philosophy of science.


Friday, 12 July (Room VU 104, at Professor-Huber-Platz 2, in front of the MCMP)
10:00 Santiago Ginobili / Buenos Aires: "Formal Reconstruction of the Theory of Natural Selection"
10:45 Cedric Paternotte / MCMP: "Higher-level adaptations and lower-level selection"
11:30 Lunch Break
13:30 Lavinia Picollo / Buenos Aires: "Tweaking the Diagonal Lemma"
14:15 Johannes Korbmacher / MCMP: "The Logic of Ground"
15:00 Coffe Break
15:15 Catrin Campbell-Moore / MCMP: "Type-Free Approaches to Higher Order Probability"
16:00 Thomas Schindler / MCMP: "Truth and Diagonalization"
16:45 Coffee Break
17:00 Eduardo Barrio / Buenos Aires: "Permissive Consequence and Transparency: How Weak is the External Logic"
19:00 Conference Dinner
Saturday, 13 July (Room E21 on the ground floor of Ludwigstraße 31)
10:00 Pablo Lorenzano / Buenos Aires: "Local and Global Empirical Basis of Theory Testing"
10:45 Daniel Blanco / Buneos Aires: "The Structuralist Theory Net of the Theory of Common Descent (1859 - 1872)"
11:30 Lunch Break
13:30 Diego Tajer / Buenos Aires: "Bridge Principles and Logical Pluralism"
14:15 Federico Pailos und Lucas Rosenblatt / Buenos Aires: "Characterizing a Non-Deterministic Conditional"
15:00 Coffe Break
15:15 Radin Dardashti / MCMP: "What Analogue Models can tell us about Gravity?"
16:00 Mariano Lastiri / Buenos Aires: "Intertheoretical Relations Between Classical and Quantum Mechanics"


The conference is generously supported by the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD), the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy (MCMP) and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation through a Humboldt Professorship.